About COVID-19
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we recommend you to stay informed about WHO's and local authorities' recommendations.

Home Stay King County, United States

4.5
15 reviews15

Help a Family with a Garden and Dogs in Seattle, Washington


Top Host
This host receives lots of worldpackers and has a high average rating, being recognized by the community as a Top Host.
Practice English
4 travelers recommend this host to practice English
Immerse yourself in the local culture
3 travelers recommend this host for those looking for a local cultural immersion
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

20h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Animal Care
Help look after and take care of animals.
Child Care
Help look after, educate and instruct children.
Teaching Languages
Teach a language to guests or local communities.
Gardening
Help grow plants and cultivate gardens
Additional Fee
This host charges a fee in addition to the cost of the Worldpackers annual plan.
Learn more
Learn more

What you get

2

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
Shared Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other travelers.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Lunch
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
Dinner
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Discounts on Tours
Get discounts for tours and excursions around town.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Bikes at your disposal
You can use our bikes any time you want.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Support
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified hosts
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Insurance
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

There are always plenty of things to do around here. It's nice to have another person around to keep our two dogs company while our family is at work and school all day. I'm limiting volunteer turnover due to the pandemic, e.g. I will favor those applying for longer time periods, with a minimum of 2-3 mo. There is also a bit of training involved to be able to help our family, so the longer stays are more helpful to our family.

Learn more

Additional Fee Required

**No required fee** I'm limiting volunteer turnover due to the pandemic, e.g. I will favor those applying for longer time periods, with a minimum of 2-3 mo (or more). There is also a bit of training involved to be able to help our family, so the longer stays are more helpful to our family.

Requirements

  • Intermediate English
  • Over 18 years old
  • Only hosts solo volunteers (doesn’t accept couples or pairs)

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Availability

Sep
Oct
Nov
Dec
Jan
Feb
Stay at least
30 days
Stay up to
12 weeks

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

15 Reviews

4.5

Host & Team

4.5

Hours & Tasks

5.0

Home Stay

5.0

Learning & Fun

4.5

How this experience will transform you

4 Practicing English

3 Immersing in the local culture

3 Meeting locals

2 Meeting international travelers

1 Developing social awareness

1 Get in touch with nature

United States

4

This was a great opportunity for someone who was trying Worldpackers for the first time like I was. The hours are limited, the work isn’t too hard and the family is super sweet. Thank you Cheryl for a wonderful stay!

4 months ago


Cheryl replied

Thank you, Lilah! <3 Please keep in touch. We are excited to see where life takes you!

Mexico

5

Great experience! Loved getting to know the family as well as the city.

8 months ago


Cheryl replied

Thanks, Romina. Best of luck on your future travel and education plans. :)

Brazil

5

I spent 3 and a half months with the family and it was very nice! I got there in the midst of the pandemic, so I didn't have many places to go, but I traveled with the family 2 times. We went to 2 other states, it was amazing be able to meet them and spend that time with the kids and family. It was also great to meet and spend time with the dogs.
My goal going there was to practice English and it has improved a lot. Seattle is a wonderful city and the accommodation at the house is very comfortable. Cheryl, Chris, kids and dogs, I am so grateful! It was an incredible experience.

about 1 year ago


Cheryl replied

Thank you! All the best to you! Please keep in touch. :)

Brazil

5

My experience with Cheryl was like excellent, the family was extremely welcoming, the environment is very good, the house routine is common for a large family, the learning was incredible, I had great days and I grew up as a person, I learned a lot with than, the american culture is very different and make me feel like a new person. So that experience was the best decision ever.

over 1 year ago


Cheryl replied

We miss you so much, Gabi! Thank you for helping us through the challenge of quarantine during COVID-19. Your six month stay went by so quickly. We have made a life-long friend!

Brazil

5

I felt super comfortable living with the Woods family. The tasks are not bad, we have enough time to do whatever we want during the day. For me, one of the best moments was when we went to the park with children on Halloween and then went to the houses to ask for "Trick or Treat". I felt like a real local. The children are adorable and sweet, each one has a special way. Cheryl and Cris, I have to thank you guys for everything!

over 1 year ago


Cheryl replied

Thank you, Larissa! We enjoyed hosting you.

View all reviews

About the host

Hosted by Cheryl

Host%402x Top Host
This host receives a lot of worldpackers and has a high average rating.
Response Rate
This host usually answers to 100% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in 1 day
1 published videos
This host has 1 published videos showing a little bit about their place

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Step 1

Become a member of our community to get access to all of its benefits.

Step 2

Apply to as many positions as you want, and chat with any host.

Step 3

If a host thinks you’re a good fit, you’ll be pre-approved.

Step 4

Check for required documents, tickets, and local health recommendations.

Step 5

Confirm your trip with all the Worldpackers safety.

Step 6

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact.

Step 7

After your experience together, you and your host leave reviews.

Step 8

Sign up for our WP Programs to earn some money while you travel.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works