Farm Cascade Locks, United States

4.0
(5 reviews)5

Help us and enjoy the USA :) Seasons mater.

Help a sustainable project
This host contributes to building a better and more sustainable future for all!
Higher chance of approval
This host has recently approved volunteers and is looking for more applications.
Immerse yourself in the local culture
4 travelers recommend this host for those looking for a local cultural immersion
Connect with nature
4 travelers recommend this experience for reconnecting with nature
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

18h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Cleaning
Help clean the kitchen, bedrooms, bathrooms and common areas.
Housekeeping
Help with changing the bed linens and general housekeeping.
Gardening
Help grow plants and cultivate gardens
Learn more

What you get

2

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Lunch
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
Dinner
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Basic Internet Access
Basic speed internet for you to work remotely
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Free Tours
We’ll take you on tours and rides around town. For free!
Get free drinks or beverages.
Drink up! Get free and tasty drinks for yourself.
Permaculture Course
Take part in our Permaculture course for free.
Bikes at your disposal
You can use our bikes any time you want.
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
WP Safeguard
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

Availability

Jul
Aug
Sep
Oct
Nov
Dec
Stay at least
1 week
Stay up to
4 weeks

The Experience

We're looking for help with house cleaning, gardening, handyman, painting, carpentry, fine Art,: painting, photography, sculpture, maintenance, farming chestnuts, selling farm goods, taking care of kittens, cats. Dogs, puppies. I can use help with painting and minor home repairs if you have those skills. The musical instruments can be tuned/used; a grand piano, harpsichord and more. The place is isolated. There is an huge river beach in season

Learn more

Requirements

  • Beginner English or Beginner English
  • Between 18 and 40 years old
  • Only hosts solo volunteers (doesn’t accept couples or partners)

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

UN Sustainable Development Goals

Join the host in pursuit of these goals and contribute to building a better and more sustainable future for all.

Learn more

5 Reviews

4.0

Host & Team

4.0

Hours & Tasks

5.0

Farm

4.0

Learning & Fun

4.0

How this experience will transform you

  • 4 Immersing in the local culture
  • 4 Get in touch with nature
  • 3 Meeting locals
  • 1 Developing environmental awareness
  • 1 Practicing English

This host contributes to Sustainable Development Goals

  • 1 15. Life on land

Peru

5

I had a great time in here. Lex is a nice, funny person to be around. He took me to trails, showed me around, I met places with beautiful views thanks to him. He even gave me some snacks for my flight. His place is absolutely beautiful. He has a big colorful garden with lots of different kinds of trees. If you don't like animals this isn't your place. I'll miss Max. He's the loveliest dog I've ever met, he liked to play with the puppies. The work was mostly cleaning, taking care of the puppies and cleaning the cat's litter box. You'll be a great help to Lex if you know about carpentry:)

about 2 months ago

India

4

The host provided an accommodating experience. He was flexible with the time and dates. He dropped me off for hiking trails and downtown, and he was flexible with the pick up time. Lex provided very informative car rides. The work was only taking care of cat food, litter etc and house cleaning which took at most 4 hours/day. There are like 40 cats but one nice thing was that they weren't allowed in my room.

7 months ago

United States

5

I enjoyed my time at the farm! The beautiful property and many hiking trails around it made it an incredible place to connect with the Columbia Gorge river and waterfalls. Lex made it a welcoming place during mealtimes and with his car rides into Portland. It is important to take into consideration that there are tons of animals and that they will be a presence throughout your stay.

over 1 year ago

Germany

3

Lex is a nice person, he made some tours with me to show me some local stuff. The work was very easy and not too much to do. I had a lot of time for myself, playing with kitties and going down to the river. The property and the land around is very beautiful! I just didn't feel very welcomed. I was lucky I could stay in the room where no cats were in, but anyway i didn't get a lot of sleep. The walls are pretty thin and there was a lot of noise at night. I'm sad I didn't get a single „Thank you“ for anything i did. So yeah, all in all the experience was okay but nothing i would do again.

about 1 year ago


lex replied

It is a noisy place with trains and the highway nearby. I had dogs barking at night too. . I was appreciative. Sorry. This place is not for everyone. I could have taken you back to Portland sooner if you had asked. The house is not built like a hotel with sound proof concrete walls and floors.

United States

4

This was my first experience through worldpackers and it was definitely a mellow place. 30 minutes from the big city, but still went plenty of times and enjoyed myself. Lex will drive you which was great if you don't have a car, and would be flexible on when you would want to come back. The rooms were still needed to be clean when I got there which was fine, and all I had to do was get used to the amount of cats at once although most were in one room. Overall it was a nice relaxing environment with easy work!

almost 2 years ago

View all

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by lex

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 80% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in A few hours

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Choose your plan to travel with Worldpackers as many times as you like.

Complete your profile, watch the video lessons in the Academy, and earn certificates to stand out to hosts.

Apply to as many positions as you like, and get in contact with our verified hosts.

If a host thinks you’re a good fit for their position, they’ll pre-approve you.

Get your documents and tickets ready for your volunteer trip.

Confirm your trip to enjoy all of the safety of Worldpackers.

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact on the world.

If anything doesn’t go as planned with a host, count on the WP Safeguard and our highly responsive support team!

After volunteering, you and your host exchange reviews.

With positive reviews, you’ll stand out to hosts and get even more benefits.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works