Cottage Pechlafiere

Living in an old refurbished french farmhouse, there is always small renovation to conduct throughout the different buildings. With forests and fields around the property, there is a large garden and an orchard to maintain and cutting and collecting firewood for the winter is also a regular task.The Dordogne is a world famous touristic area in France. With Prehistoric and medieval remains, great cuisine and gorgeous countryside landscape, there is a great deal of sightseeing and other cultural and leisure activities to engage in. The forests are littered with hiking path for long walks or adventurous bike rides. In the summer the rivers which cross the region make a great day out beaching or sunbathing.

I have travelled extensively through my life and am happy to share the adventures i took part of. I am a great fan of nature, environmental protection and organic food growth as well as ancient types of plants, agricultural technique and alternative lifestyle. I am also part of various cultural groups such as a occitan choire and a prehistoric study group. Volunteers are all welcomed and we value differences and particuliar life experiences.Work schedules are flexible (according to the weather and the tasks to manage) and we are also happy that volunteers participate in the social life of the place.


Reviews

4.0
(7 reviews)7

Staff & Host

4.5

Hours & Tasks

3.0

Hostel

3.5

Learning & Fun

4.5

Spain

1

The work was good and so were the outings, but the hygiene in the kitchen could be greatly improved. The hot water administration seemed insufficient to me.

about 1 month ago


Danielle replied

Regarding the house standing as mentioned in the profile it is a country-side old rustic farmhouse.As for the hot water, the house is heated (air and water) by a wood boiler and/or thermic solar panels. There are rare occasions during the year when the boiler is off and there is no sun for a few days running (as it was during that week) and so it takes 6 to 8 hours to re-start the boiler and get the water storage ballon heated up. I understand that it can be, at times, less flexible then other places but i am always happy to cater for visitor's needs. Finally, I should indicate that the agreed stay calendar was not completed due to persistent health constraint (back pain) and so the experience was cut short. I hope the issues are now resolved.

Italy

5

Wonderfull experience.
Danielle, Django and Jago are real and passionate people.
I think Danielle’s stories about her beloved Africa, our chats in french and the music, a constant companion of our days together.
The sites of interest in this wonderful region always allow for exiting and new discoveries, ranging from prehistory to the Middle Ages, and Danielle will be delighted to show and tell you interesting facts.
Working hours are well defined and respected. The jobs are varied, non difficult. Food is the great protagonist of this experience. So many emotions and so few lines t des. them.

about 2 months ago

Brazil

4

Você se interessa em vida no campo, é o lugar ideal, bem afastado da cidade e das pessoas. A comida é 100% orgânica e vegana, então irá desfrutar das mais diversas comidas a base de vegetais. Precisa-se alinhar a horário de trabalho, pois precisa estar disponível a todo momento além do trabalho ajudar na preparação de almoço e janta. Destaque para o Yago, o amigo da família. Aprendemos muito com ele e é muito simpático, nos ajudou em tudo e esteve nos melhores momentos da estadia. Danielle também foi muito atenciosa e prestativa, nos levou em vários locais e castelos e nos ensinou tudo.

7 months ago

United States

5

Danielle is a wonderful host and the work is as stated. She is a great cook and there was always lots of food. Did a variety of jobs like fixed a storage unit a tree fell on, gardening work, painting doors and shutters, cleaning and weeding a massive terrace. also went to lots of castles, music venues and a street:market.Will definitely be back next year. A grea experience.

9 months ago

Brazil

5

Danielle, Django, Yago and any other you might cross over your stay in Pechlafiere will be amazing people. Just be respectful and available!
If you are open to a immersive and ancient experience, learning daily it can be an amazing stay. Make sure you are aware to put yourself to some of your limits, physical, cultural, isolation, tolerance or any other;
You will eat organic and fresh food, know old villages from Dordogne, improcedente your French and knowledge on sustainability and gardening.
It’s a good place to go for walks, running, exercising, reading.

10 months ago


Perfect for you if you're looking for

Contact with nature

Vegetarian / Vegan

Rural

Contact with animals

Yoga / Meditation

Family