Khan Family Home

There are always a lot of varied and interesting projects to help with here, and for those willing to put in some effort with good spirit and humour there's plenty of knowledge and friendships to take away with you. My hope is that you'll leave learning about a culture / lifestyle you didn't know about before, improved English DIY skills and maybe even a little Urdu!

We've hosted over 40 guests over the years across other sites, but we're new to worldpackers :)

We're a traditional muslim family, with my parents having left pakistan/india before the partition, so if you want to experience what life is like for a 'typical'? London family living in the suburbs (not the centre), we'd love to have you join us! My sisters a primary school teacher, currently into organic 'everything', gardening and pottery. Given we're from an eastern culture, we're relatively warm and open in the global scale of things, the more you get involved the more you'll feel part of the family! If you are an honest person and have plenty of independence you will be welcome to help on this project. The things that we'll need help with are many and varied, sanding, painting, gardening - all the way to plastering, carpentry, electrics, stronger DIY skills will be given preference. I suggest that volunteers come for one week first, then if it all works out we can negotiate the duration of the stay. You will need to be physically fit and we're happy to take either one or two single individuals.


Reviews

5.0
(4 reviews)4

Staff & Host

5.0

Hours & Tasks

4.5

Hostel

4.5

Learning & Fun

5.0

Chile

5

I had a great time with Khan family, they treated my like a was part of the family. The schedule is flexible, adjustments can always be discussed. The bedroom is very nice, you have your own space and about food you can eat with all or prepare your owns meals. Just a detail, the house is not central but the city is well connected. It was a very good familiar experience!

9 days ago

Italy

5

El trato que te dan te hace sentir como un miembro más de la familia, todo es de acuerdo a lo que dice el perfil y cualquier ajuste en el horario de trabajo se puede charlar tranquilamente. Lo recomiendo ya que fue una experiencia muy grata.

2 months ago

Singapore

5

Gained alot of DIY experience for building the house. Recommended if you have prior DIY skills. May be tough at first but you will get the hang of it. Felt really welcomed by the amazing family ❤️

6 months ago

Mexico

4

Haider is a good host, his family is amazing and the house is comfortable, delicious food and good neighborhood.
Work requires a certain level of skill to get it done, if you like to contribute to set up a house and make it habitable, this is your place.

9 months ago


Perfect for you if you're looking for

City & Town

Spiritual

Family

Metropolis