Quinta São Bento Tapou

I speak English, German and Dutch. I live off-grid and I have hot shower and solar power. There are rooms and a caravan to stay. There is water and electricity available if you come with a camper.
I traveled a lot in India and other interesting counties, I am interested in different cultures, music, and sustainable building and meeting like-minded people.
In case you'll arrive with public transport, I'll pick you up in Portalegre.

Besides working on the land and homeschooling my two young daughters every other week, I work a few hours online as a coach and psychologist and build yurts and domes once in a while.

Top Host
This host receives a lot of worldpackers and has a high average rating.


45 reviews45

Staff & Host


Hours & Tasks




Learning & Fun




Paul is super nice, his daughters are lovely and the experience is amazing. Great place to connect with nature!

23 days ago



Mi experiencia fue muy buena. Me sentí como parte de la familia. Paul es amable, respetuoso y paciente, siempre pendiente de que te sientas a gusto y no trabajes demasiado😅 además que cocina muy rico (de vez en cuando te pregunta si quieres cocinar). La casa está a una hora caminando del pueblo asi que de cierta forma dependes de que Paul te lleve si quieres visitar, los vecinos están a 5 minutos de distancia, así que solo son Paul y tú (sus niñas vienen cada semana) o si acaso algún otro voluntario. Si no eres muy solitario este no es tu lugar; si lo eres, te va a encantar la paz que hay.

26 days ago



I really enjoyed staying here. Paul is a really nice guy,I couldn’t ask for better.
Also the place was amazing too, surrounded by nature with a fantastic river nearby.

6 months ago



I had a beautiful and fun week at Paul's place, which is surrounded by nature and a little river. Paul is a host, that makes an effort for you to feel welcomed and at home. The work I did was mostly in the garden and maintenance around the house. After that there was plenty of time to relax, sit together and eat. I really enjoyed bering around his daughters as well as the other volunteers and friends. Everday there was fresh cooked food and even though I stayed in the caravan I felt overall very comfortable. Also, there was always good music! :) Thanks Paul, for the time and conversations!

6 months ago



I've spent a wonderful time with Paul and his family. They are full of positive energy. The location have beautiful views and nice walks to do. I recommend this experience!

6 months ago

Perfect for you if you're looking for

Contact with nature

Vegetarian / Vegan



Yoga / Meditation