About COVID-19
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we recommend you to stay informed about WHO's and local authorities' recommendations.

Eco Village Lavaux-Oron District, Switzerland

4.5
5 reviews5

Make yummy food , gardening and housekeeping the ecocommunity


High demand host
This host has received 7 applications recently. We recommend you apply for other positions too.
Connect with international travelers
4 travelers recommend this host to meet travelers from all around the world
Learn about sustainability
4 travelers learned about sustainability working with this host
Accepts couples and pairs of volunteers
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

30h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Kitchen Hand
Help prepare, finish and serve meals.
Cleaning
Help clean the kitchen, bedrooms, bathrooms and common areas.
Gardening
Help grow plants and cultivate gardens
Learn more

What you get

2

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
Shared Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other travelers.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Lunch
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
Dinner
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Discounts on Accommodation
Get discounts for your stay in other hostels.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Free Tours
We’ll take you on tours and rides around town. For free!
Free Events
Get free entrance for the best events in town.
Bikes at your disposal
You can use our bikes any time you want.
Permaculture Course
Take part in our Permaculture course for free.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Support
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified hosts
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Insurance
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

We are looking for versatile and fantastic people who feel comfortable with household chores : cooking, gardening and cleaning. We provide learning of ecological life while doing. You will learn vege gastronomic meals, permaculture gardening, home-making cleaning liquids. Minimum 8-10 weeks preference for people applying for 12 weeks. Hablamos espanol, falamos portugues.

Learn more

Requirements

  • Beginner French or Beginner English
  • Between 18 and 80 years old
  • Accepts solo applications and also couples and pairs

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Availability

Dec
Jan
Feb
Mar
Apr
May
Stay at least
4 weeks
Stay up to
3 months

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

5 Reviews

4.5

Host & Team

4.5

Hours & Tasks

4.0

Eco Village

5.0

Learning & Fun

5.0

How this experience will transform you

4 Meeting international travelers

4 Learning about sustainability

2 Practicing English

2 Meeting locals

2 Immersing in the local culture

1 Practicing Spanish

France

5

My time in Smala was incredible 🤩. Alberto and Theo, are excellent hosts that anyone
I could ask. They make everyone feel at home 🏡 and they are very clear about the tasks they must
perform volunteers.
In Smala one can meet interesting people, learn from different cultures 🌍, I appreciate
Alberto, lucila in taking part of his time to teach me his culinary art, very good cooks, the
place is super nice a lovely view in front of the lake, Theo has extensive knowledge
about permaculture, 🌻🌹☘️🌞 you learn a lot. It is a super productive experience, I recommend it.

4 months ago


LA SMALA replied

Ivonne is a really kind and hard working woman. Always very helpful and willing to help. Communicative, smiling and always happy. Thank you very much for your efforts here, we wish you all the best!

Romania

5

My first experience in a community, people are very nice and a wide range of people with different life stories and at the same time the opportunity to learn new languages, I felt very good during the time spent here at Ecovillage and I recommend you try this experience

11 months ago

Brazil

3

I spent 3 weeks in Smala and I learned a lot. The house has an awesome view of the lake and of the vinos. I need to warn, especially girls, that the place has a lot more men and that didn’t make me feel comfortable. I applied to do one kind of job and I ended up doing another one, even though they told me this would change with time. Hours of work are usually not assigned until either the night before or first thing in the morning and you need to fight for your days off. I was supposed to stay for 2 months, but I left early.

over 1 year ago


LA SMALA replied

Julia arrived for 6-7 weeks to help in half housekeeping and other half social media contribution, as defined with her. After arriving, she starting complaining about housekeeping tasks. In our humble opinion, she was not very cooperative not respecting her duties, many times changing last minute and putting pressure on the team (rebel attitude). She kept on repeating her father was lawer and she did not show much cool attitude needed for an ecological sober life. We offered her extra leasures such as a flight simulator and a nice mountain treking at our own costs, and were happy to bring her joy.

But she explaind us she always had a housekeeping lady paid by her parents to make her laundry and other housekeeping in her house Brasil, and thus most of basic tasks were new for her such as making tea, using laundry... Lack of experience plus rebel and not much cooperative spirit did not facilitate her inclusion.
regarding her comment on hours. She did not use the digital tools toogl that we provided her to track her hours of volunteering, therefore we were unable to manage her schedule correctly.

Other volunteers such as Dylan and Mike stayed longer and were very happy, she was a bit isolated in her position.

It was her first volunteering experience and although we did not feel confortable with her frequent demands and pressure, we pardon and wish her the best !

Ireland

5

Very nice place to work.

over 1 year ago


LA SMALA replied

Thanks Dylan. We are happy you decided to stay longer, and it is a pleasure having you still in our community. Your contributions where helpful.

Italy

5

Fue una experiencia corta, pero aprendí mucho en carpintería con Rodolfo. Y mucho sobre comida saludable y vegetariana. Estuvo increíble ya que la gente que vive ahí es muy agradable y siempre busca que te sientas como en casa.

about 1 year ago

About the host

Hosted by LA SMALA

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 30% of the messages
7 published videos
This host has 7 published videos showing a little bit about their place

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Step 1

Become a member of our community to get access to all of its benefits.

Step 2

Apply to as many positions as you want, and chat with any host.

Step 3

If a host thinks you’re a good fit, you’ll be pre-approved.

Step 4

Check for required documents, tickets, and local health recommendations.

Step 5

Confirm your trip with all the Worldpackers safety.

Step 6

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact.

Step 7

After your experience together, you and your host leave reviews.

Step 8

Sign up for our WP Programs to earn some money while you travel.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works