Homestay Spalding, United Kingdom

4.5
(11 reviews)11

Explore the Lincolnshire fens, the east midlands of England

Top Host
This host receives lots of worldpackers and has a high average rating, being recognized by the community as a Top Host.
Practice English
8 travelers recommend this host to practice English
Connect with nature
6 travelers recommend this experience for reconnecting with nature
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

20h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Painting & Decorating
Help with painting or decorating the property facilities.
Building & Repairing
Help with a wide range of repairs or building.
Gardening
Help grow plants and cultivate gardens
Learn more

What you get

4

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Lunch
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
Basic Internet Access
Basic speed internet for you to work remotely
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Pick Up
We will pick you up when you arrive, and take you to our property.
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
WP Safeguard
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

Availability

Jul
Aug
Sep
Oct
Nov
Dec
Stay at least
1 week
Stay up to
12 weeks

The Experience

Handy person required for maintenance inside and outside of house, field maintenance, woodwork required, cement work, laying a few bricks to stop rain getting under doors in yard fencing repairs in appropriate weather, clean guttters on stable roofs, felling small trees, various jobs. I have 1 cat and 3 dogs and at the moment a horse so sometimes animal care. None smoker and positive person a MUST! This is not the place for lazy people

Learn more

Requirements

  • Intermediate English
  • Between 25 and 70 years old
  • Only hosts solo volunteers (doesn’t accept couples or partners)

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

11 Reviews

4.5

Host & Team

5.0

Hours & Tasks

5.0

Homestay

5.0

Learning & Fun

4.5

How this experience will transform you

  • 8 Practicing English
  • 6 Get in touch with nature
  • 4 Meeting international travelers
  • 4 Immersing in the local culture
  • 3 Learning about sustainability
  • 3 Developing environmental awareness

Brazil

5

This was my first volunteering experience and I couldn't have had a better opportunity! Gwen is a kind, receptive and super communicative person. We became friends in the first few days. The house is cozy, the room excellent and Gwen is an excellent cook! If you like animals, you will do well in the house, as it has 3 incredible dogs, a beautiful kitten and a very kind horse. The village is remote, so my advice is to think about enjoying nature and the surroundings on your days off, as transportation is difficult to other cities. Thank you Gwen, for the excellent experience at Gedney Hill!

21 days ago

Colombia

5

I really enjoyed the time in the Gwendoline's house. The place is in the middle of the countryside where you can walk and see many animals and landscapes. The dogs were the best part, because are very friendly and loveliest. Gwendoline is kindest person, she invite you to met new places around and always can talk with her and practice your English, also she really cook the best food and show you how is the British life .

about 1 month ago

United Kingdom

5

The host and I became good friends, she is a good and sociable person, I didn't work more than the hours she said, the first day I helped with digging the ground and fencing, and the rest of the days were spent painting, we walked with her and her dogs some days , I had a good time in her house , we talked a lot on the way and her house, the food she prepared was excellent and delicious, my host is generally kind and friendly, if she ever needs help again, I hope I can help.

2 months ago

Costa Rica

5

I want to thank Mrs.Gwendoline for giving me the opportunity to volunteer 4 weeks at her property and being able to help her with different jobs,it was a very pleasant experience for me,Mrs.Gwendoline is a very organized person and she likes to have everything clean in the house and she cares a lot about making sure the volunteer feels comfortable anyway and she is very fair with the work hours,I was able to try traditional English dishes,I also really enjoyed playing with her dogs,the horse and the cat,I highly recommend this place to volunteer,It was unforgettable experience,I hope to re so

2 months ago

Colombia

5

The most remark Worldpackers experiences. Ms. Gwendoline is a very talkative person and will be genuinely interested in knowing more about you. She also will share some experiences and cultural things and typical English foods (Great cook). As I was the only volunteer during the experience, It was just the two of us and the animals. You must be a dog person if you want to come because you will be with in touch with 3 dogs and 1 cat. Ms. Gwendoline is very organized with the animals and her house. She always tried to have the environment clean and cosy. I recommend this opportunity. Thanks 🙏

5 months ago

View all

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by Gwendoline

Top Host
This host receives a lot of worldpackers and has a high average rating.
Response Rate
This host usually answers to 100% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in 1 day
1 published videos
This host has 1 published videos showing a little bit about their place

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Choose your plan to travel with Worldpackers as many times as you like.

Complete your profile, watch the video lessons in the Academy, and earn certificates to stand out to hosts.

Apply to as many positions as you like, and get in contact with our verified hosts.

If a host thinks you’re a good fit for their position, they’ll pre-approve you.

Get your documents and tickets ready for your volunteer trip.

Confirm your trip to enjoy all of the safety of Worldpackers.

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact on the world.

If anything doesn’t go as planned with a host, count on the WP Safeguard and our highly responsive support team!

After volunteering, you and your host exchange reviews.

With positive reviews, you’ll stand out to hosts and get even more benefits.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works