About COVID-19
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we recommend you to stay informed about WHO's and local authorities' recommendations.

Sustainable Community Huaraz, Peru

4.5
43 reviews43

Jardinería y Agricultura

Help a sustainable project
This host contributes to building a better and more sustainable future for all!
Higher chance of approval
This host has recently approved volunteers and is looking for more applications.
Connect with the locals
8 travelers recommend this host to have close contact with locals
Immerse yourself in the local culture
8 travelers recommend this host for those looking for a local cultural immersion
Accepts couples and pairs of volunteers
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

4h

Hours per day
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Party Promoter
Help organise and promote parties and social activities.
Photography
Take, edit and provide amazing photos.
Video Making
Create, edit and publish digital videos.
Social Media
Maintain and update social media channels.
Additional Fee
This host charges a fee in addition to the cost of the Worldpackers annual plan.
Learn more
Learn more

What you get

2

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
Shared Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other travelers.
Team Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other people.
Tent
You will sleep in a tent at a camping site.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Lunch
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
Dinner
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Discounts on Accommodation
Get discounts for your stay in other hostels.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Language lessons
Take free language classes at our place.
Holistic Therapies
You can take part in any of our therapeutic activities for free.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

Actualmente estamos trabajando con la jardinería y la agricultura. Estamos en busca de más voluntarios... Para nuestro proyecto...

Learn more

Additional Fee Required

WE HAVE FEW REQUIREMENTS: • Pay US$8 per day, for the payment of consumption of drinking water services, electric power, supplies for the kitchen and other payments. • Speak a little Spanish, sometimes you have to talk to our family, they do not speak English. You can learn some new experiences of our Andean Culture-Locality for example:

Requirements

  • Beginner Spanish or Beginner English
  • Over 18 years old
  • Accepts solo applications and also couples and pairs

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Availability

Jan
Feb
Mar
Apr
May
Jun
Stay at least
1 week
Stay up to
4 weeks

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

5 Reviews

4.5

Host & Team

4.5

Hours & Tasks

4.5

Sustainable Community

4.5

Learning & Fun

4.5

How this experience will transform you

8 Meeting locals

8 Immersing in the local culture

8 Get in touch with nature

5 Learning about sustainability

5 Developing environmental awareness

3 Meeting international travelers

Peru

5

Tasks were light and diverse, one day I was taking care of llamas, another one I was assisting in the garden or storing wood in a shelter. I could easily talk to Nelson and his family members, and I've learnt a lot about their day-to-day lives and costumes. Due to the political situation and demonstrations, I was the only worldpacker in there, but I could meet other foreigners when trekking or exploring the city. Food tastes good and you can have as much as you want, you'll take care of your own utensils. The bedroom is clean and I had enough space to study and work in there in my free time.

about 1 month ago

Belgium

4

If you want to have a real Peruvian experience this is the place. Work hours are easy: working in the morning and you get your afternoon off. Perfect for hiking to the Lagunas near the house. Nelson is a really nice person, always willing to help you for both organisation of the following days but also to know the surroundings. Unfortunately he was usually working at another place and I was under his mother's charge. Even if they are thankful to you for what you did, I had the impression that they don't really need your help and that they're doing this for having another source of income.

3 months ago


Nelson Jovano replied

Muchas gracias hermano Paul. Saludos cordiales a la distancia.

Colombia

4

It's an interesting experience. More like an accommodation with a cultural exchange I'd say. It's a big nice family, everyone has many things to do and sometimes you can help them and interact. You won't have an actual schedule it just depends on what is happening that day. It can be a advantage because there is so many trekkings to do around. You will be under a local family rules in all terms, food, manners, showers… everything. You will learn a lot :)

5 months ago

Sweden

1

They're basically doing it for the money, the family didn't need help with anything really. Mostly I just had to follow the mother around, and not getting any instructions on what to do. One day I had the task of picking up trash from the property other people had thrown there. I didn't get gloves or anything, and among the trash were used diapers and broken glass. The also had a lot of plastic in their garden, which they had thrown there themselves, which really wasn't nice. When the llamas misbehaved they threw rocks on them. Choose another place to stay.

10 months ago

Costa Rica

2

My friend and I completed this experience during the pandemic. They did made us feel welcomed at first and taught us a bit of quechua, but we felt discouraged by some issues. The working hours were not respected: somedays we were not involved at all and some weeks we did not have free days. We mostly completed house chores. The host was usually working and we were under his mother's charge and sometimes she was not kind to us. We were assured that is was a covidsafe place, but a lot of people came and went trough the house. We decided to leave earlier and the host refused to give us a refund.

over 1 year ago

View all reviews

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by Nelson Jovano

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 100% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in Less than a day
23 published videos
This host has 23 published videos showing a little bit about their place

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Choose your plan to travel with Worldpackers as many times as you like.

Complete your profile, watch the video lessons in the Academy, and earn certificates to stand out to hosts.

Apply to as many positions as you like, and get in contact with hosts.

If a host thinks you’re a good fit for their position, they’ll pre-approve you.

Get your documents and tickets ready for your volunteer trip.

Confirm your trip to enjoy all of the safety of Worldpackers.

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact on the world.

If anything doesn’t go as planned with a host, count on WP Insurance and our support team!

After volunteering, you and your host exchange reviews.

With positive reviews, you’ll stand out to hosts and get even more benefits.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works