Homestay Malacca, Malaysia

4.5
6 reviews6

Welcome to be my volunteers. We work and learn together

Immerse yourself in the local culture
A traveler recommended this host for those looking for a local cultural immersion
Connect with the locals
A traveler recommended this host to have close contact with locals
Accepts couples and pairs of volunteers
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

20h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Cleaning
Help clean the kitchen, bedrooms, bathrooms and common areas.
Housekeeping
Help with changing the bed linens and general housekeeping.
Reception
Help with check-ins, check-outs and guest assistance.
Gardening
Help grow plants and cultivate gardens
Learn more

What you get

2

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
Shared Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other travelers.
Team Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other people.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Bikes at your disposal
You can use our bikes any time you want.
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
WP Safeguard
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

Availability

Mar
Apr
May
Jun
Jul
Aug
Stay at least
1 week

The Experience

Hello, im Ong Puay Aik who is running guesthouse in Melaka city. My guesthouse is strategically located in Melaka heritage city, just less than 5 minutes walk to Jonker street and china town. The language that i speak is english and chinese. I like to meet and know different friends from all around world . I will be very grateful if anyone could help me with it. There is plenty of restaurants around my guest house ( with in 5 minutes walking dis

Learn more

Requirements

  • Intermediate English or Intermediate Chinese
  • Over 18 years old
  • Welcomes solo volunteers, couples, and partners of volunteers

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

6 Reviews

4.5

Host & Team

5.0

Hours & Tasks

4.5

Homestay

4.0

Learning & Fun

4.0

How this experience will transform you

  • 1 Immersing in the local culture
  • 1 Meeting locals

Spain

1

Petter is a good and friendly man who will try to make you feel good in his house, but the circumstances didn't help our exchange. I rushed to Melaka for this exchange, changing my traveling plans, to discover that it was nothing like what I expected because the exchange description is years out of date. I suggest other volunteers to have all the info updated from Peter before moving.

over 1 year ago

Argentina

5

I had a great experience. Job was really easy because now there are no many guest due to covid. The house is really comfortable. And i have plenty time to visit the city. Peter was very friendly, thank you!

over 3 years ago

Indonesia

5

Host really nice and so the home . the place is comfort . job desk is not difficult cause host and friend teach and tell with clearly . recommended for other

about 4 years ago

Spain

5

I had a great experience, it was my first volunteer at a hostel and I really enjoyed it. Peter is a very nice person who he lets you organize your way and gives you a lots of tips about the city. As far as you are done you have free time. I met very nice people. Thanks Peter!

about 4 years ago

Philippines

5

I had an awesome time in Melaka. Peter was a really great host, he answered my questions all the time and he gives me tips on how to get to places and where to eat. He also provided food for me and one of the best things is you can cook food, do the laundry and you get a free bike. It is a quiet hostel and clean most of the time.

over 4 years ago

View all

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by Ong

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 60% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in 1 day

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Choose your plan to travel with Worldpackers as many times as you like.

Complete your profile, watch the video lessons in the Academy, and earn certificates to stand out to hosts.

Apply to as many positions as you like, and get in contact with our verified hosts.

If a host thinks you’re a good fit for their position, they’ll pre-approve you.

Get your documents and tickets ready for your volunteer trip.

Confirm your trip to enjoy all of the safety of Worldpackers.

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact on the world.

If anything doesn’t go as planned with a host, count on the WP Safeguard and our highly responsive support team!

After volunteering, you and your host exchange reviews.

With positive reviews, you’ll stand out to hosts and get even more benefits.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works