Hostel Xicotepec, Mexico

4.0
(11 reviews)11

Help us with maintenance and improve your handyman skills in a magic town in Puebla!

Higher chance of approval
This host has recently approved volunteers and is looking for more applications.
Immerse yourself in the local culture
7 travelers recommend this host for those looking for a local cultural immersion
Connect with nature
6 travelers recommend this experience for reconnecting with nature
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

25h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Animal Care
Help look after and take care of animals.
Social Work
Help with volunteer work in local projects and communities.
Building & Repairing
Help with a wide range of repairs or building.
Gardening
Help grow plants and cultivate gardens
Learn more

What you get

2

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Team Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other people.
Tent
You will sleep in a tent at a camping site.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Discounts on Tours
Get discounts for tours and excursions around town.
Language lessons
Take free language classes at our place.
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
WP Safeguard
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

Availability

Jul
Aug
Sep
Oct
Nov
Dec
Stay at least
1 week
Stay up to
2 weeks

The Experience

Xicotepec is a Magical Town of the Huasteca Poblana (Puebla) with a strong syncretism that you can discover in a tour of its streets, an excursion in its mountains and adventure in its waterfalls. This position consist on giving maintenance to trails that lead to points of interest in our hostel in Xicotepec, Puebla.

Learn more

Requirements

  • Beginner English
  • Between 18 and 35 years old
  • Only hosts solo volunteers (doesn’t accept couples or partners)
  • Be from outside Mexico

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

Exclusive for members

Connect with those who will also be there

Become a Verified Member and exchange ideas before your trip with other worldpackers who will be volunteering in the same place as you.

Become a member

11 Reviews

4.0

Host & Team

4.5

Hours & Tasks

4.5

Hostel

3.5

Learning & Fun

4.0

How this experience will transform you

  • 7 Immersing in the local culture
  • 6 Get in touch with nature
  • 6 Meeting locals
  • 4 Developing environmental awareness
  • 2 Learning about sustainability
  • 2 Developing social awareness

Germany

5

Omar, Laura and Tony are very nice people! Yes they have around 23 dogs and some more cats, but they are all cute and not aggressive at all. I really loved it there, first the experience with all the animals is something special, then Omar is a super Chef and cooks delicious food every day. The house gets cleaned regularly, what is also necessary with that many animals. I was the only guest during my stay, so when i wanted to have time for my own, i could just go in my bedroom and chill there. We made some trips into the beautiful nature, where you can learn a lot from the hosts.

25 days ago

Jamaica

5

The hosts Omar and Laura were extremely welcoming and kind. The tours were immersive, educational and adventurous and I learnt a lot about the history of Puebla and Xicotepec. The hosts, along with Tony were helpful guides and accompanied me on various trips around the city. There was a slight sanitation issue as the bathroom and bedroom were not the cleanest. Nevertheless I was comfortable and safe. Overall an enriching experience :)

7 months ago

Egypt

5

Omar, Laura, Lupita and Thonny were really welcoming and were happy to show me around Xicotepec de Juárez. I also went hiking with their 20 dogs it was amazing, and to the waterfalls, explored the city and nature. They're very proud about their puebla and gave me alot of information about its history.. Volunteering there was not hard at all, I was not asked to do much, except for painting and photography which were the main things I applied for.

over 1 year ago


Omar replied

Having you here was a great experience, seen your interest in our culture made us feel so special.
We wish you a wonderful safe trip.
Stay in touch.
Omar

I hope you're doing great, we miss you and wish you a great trip. We hope we can see you again in the future.
With love 💖
Laura Omar and Lupita

Denmark

1

My friend and I left the WP experience shortly after arrival. In spite of Omars kindness and how helpful he had been all the way the living situation did not meet our expectations. It is a beautiful thing to have rescued so many animals however they were allowed everywhere including countertops in the kitchen and in our room which it took smell off. We talked to Omar about it, he was cool and helped us find a ride onwards. After it all he asked me not to give a bad review but also gave me a 'no show' which I felt was unfair given our time and resources spent coming to the hostel.

10 months ago


Omar replied

We do apologize for the no show but it would of asked me for review wich I din't have ,I only saw you guys 15 minutes ,
We did stayed the amount of cats13 and 20 dogs ,and before accepting you guys as volunteers we asked how you'll felt about pets
Having this amount of rescue pets would be inhumane having them cage up
We do feel sorry for the miss understanding of you and simone and not meeting your high expectations, as we mention perhaps this was not for you'll
As we have never had any issues with other volunteers
We hope the rest of you trip around Mexico meets your expectations,

Denmark

1

We've decided to end our stay after we arrived at the location. The place didn't quite meet our expectations as we told Omar before leaving.

10 months ago

View all

About the host

Hosted by Omar

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 80% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in A few hours

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Choose your plan to travel with Worldpackers as many times as you like.

Complete your profile, watch the video lessons in the Academy, and earn certificates to stand out to hosts.

Apply to as many positions as you like, and get in contact with our verified hosts.

If a host thinks you’re a good fit for their position, they’ll pre-approve you.

Get your documents and tickets ready for your volunteer trip.

Confirm your trip to enjoy all of the safety of Worldpackers.

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact on the world.

If anything doesn’t go as planned with a host, count on the WP Safeguard and our highly responsive support team!

After volunteering, you and your host exchange reviews.

With positive reviews, you’ll stand out to hosts and get even more benefits.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works