Homestay Gorey, Ireland

16 reviews16

Explore Ireland while learning how to build your own dream home

Top Host
This host receives lots of worldpackers and has a high average rating, being recognized by the community as a Top Host.
High demand host
This host has received 6 applications recently. We recommend you apply for other positions too.
Immerse yourself in the local culture
10 travelers recommend this host for those looking for a local cultural immersion
Practice English
9 travelers recommend this host to practice English
Save to Wishlist

What you offer


Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Painting & Decorating
Help with painting or decorating the property facilities.
Help with a wide range of repairs or building.
Help grow plants and cultivate gardens
Learn more

What you get


Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Bikes at your disposal
You can use our bikes any time you want.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

This project concentrates on building a workshop and the landscaping the garden. I am Looking for enthusiastic,motivated people who enjoy building and gardening .A basic knowledge of gardening carpentry,painting is required.

Learn more


  • Intermediate English or Intermediate English
  • Between 21 and 36 years old
  • Only hosts solo volunteers (doesn’t accept couples or pairs)

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more


Stay at least
2 weeks

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

16 Reviews


Host & Team


Hours & Tasks




Learning & Fun


How this experience will transform you

10 Immersing in the local culture

9 Practicing English

5 Meeting locals

4 Meeting international travelers

4 Get in touch with nature

2 Learning about sustainability



Conor and Laura and their children were so welcoming and kind right from the start of my stay. I loved being in country island and going on bike rides and walks. The accomodation is more than you could ever need. I had a great time bonding with Conor whilst we worked on building his house, he was even kind enough to take me to the local pub to drink Irish Guinness together. Overall I wish I was there for longer, Thankyou Conor and Laura once again. ❤️

8 months ago



Hard but fair work, Conor is a great guy and his family is really nice, beautiful area

9 months ago



It was a nice experience, I helped to improve my english, nice meal, nice beer, thanks you Conor for all, I always will remember this experience!!!

about 1 year ago



My experience with Mr Conor, his wife and daughter was very good. They are very kind, respectful and fair. They taught me many things, I was able to practice and learn English with them, I learned about their culture and their history. The housing is very comfortable, it has everything a person needs to be comfortable. They speak very good English without accents, the internet is good and there is a bicycle available for you to explore the region.

about 1 year ago



What a great experience I had with Conor. In fact the work isn't easy, but worth a lot. Conor and his family are so much friendly and receptive, you may improve your English, your building skills and have good conversations. This was my first experience and couldn't be better, I'm really grateful for Conor and his family.

about 1 year ago

View all reviews

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by Conor

Top Host
This host receives a lot of worldpackers and has a high average rating.
Response Rate
This host usually answers to 10% of the messages

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Choose your plan to travel with Worldpackers as many times as you like.

Complete your profile, watch the video lessons in the Academy, and earn certificates to stand out to hosts.

Apply to as many positions as you like, and get in contact with hosts.

If a host thinks you’re a good fit for their position, they’ll pre-approve you.

Get your documents and tickets ready for your volunteer trip.

Confirm your trip to enjoy all of the safety of Worldpackers.

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact on the world.

If anything doesn’t go as planned with a host, count on WP Insurance and our support team!

After volunteering, you and your host exchange reviews.

With positive reviews, you’ll stand out to hosts and get even more benefits.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works