Guest House Guanico Abajo, Panama

2 reviews2

Need an All around Handyman for our surfcamp

Immerse yourself in the local culture
2 travelers recommend this host for those looking for a local cultural immersion
Connect with nature
2 travelers recommend this experience for reconnecting with nature
Save to Wishlist

What you offer


Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Building & Repairing
Help with a wide range of repairs or building.
Help grow plants and cultivate gardens
Learn more

What you get


Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Team Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other people.
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Bikes at your disposal
You can use our bikes any time you want.
Pick Up
We will pick you up when you arrive, and take you to our property.
You can use our surfboards as much as you want.
Surf lessons
Take free surf classes at the local beaches.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more


Stay at least
4 weeks

The Experience

We are a small surfcamp located in Guanico, Panama. A very remote place that is surrounded by nature and jungle sounds. Throughout of the year we always need some motivated volunteers who can help us with some handy and maintenance work. Your main duties are: - simple repairment - wood work (Sanding, cutting) - gardening (mowing the lawn, cleaning) - painting

Learn more


  • Fluent English
  • Between 22 and 38 years old
  • Only hosts solo volunteers (doesn’t accept couples or pairs)

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

2 Reviews


Host & Team


Hours & Tasks


Guest House


Learning & Fun


How this experience will transform you

  • 2 Immersing in the local culture
  • 2 Get in touch with nature
  • 2 Meeting locals
  • 1 Meeting international travelers
  • 1 Practicing Spanish
  • 1 Practicing English



Guanico is a beautiful, remote little village! The experience I had was really good, but I believe a big part of that was because the owners were away during my stay. I have heard a lot of stories where volunteers leave before they suppose to. I saw big issues even if they weren't there and it wasn't personally towards me. All in all. Loved the place, the locals, the availability of the surf boards. My co-workers.

8 days ago

Jiani replied

Hello Andrea,

I appreciate your time for your review.

As you have mentioned that we as an owner wasn’t there. You couldn’t have known everything and every stories.

As you know we have usually 6-8 volunteers at the time, there are some fews volunteers who aren’t really motivated to work or having different mentality to the volunteer programm. In that case, we always let those people go. We have a probation time of 5 days. Within these days we see if it works out for both side.

Nevertheless, we have plenty of volunteers who enjoyed working and living here. (Example: Ellen)

I understand, that negative stories affect ones more than the positives.

I do agree that we are strict on the business operation. We would like to have everything runs smoothies. This is our job. If a job or task is done wrong and our guests aren’t satisfied because of this. It is us, the owner, who has an impact on.

And yes, if one volunteer violate house rules or did any big wrong doing, we let them go.

Obviously, you have done your job well, and nothing happened to you personally. You have stayed.

Overall, you liked the place. And everything went well…

I don’t think it is fair if you made your review based on other people stories.




I stayed here for almost 3 months and not because of the host. After 2 weeks several locals congratulated me that I was still there as a lot of other volunteers leave this place earlier. Reason: behavior of Jiani (gaslighting, yelling, other crazy behavior). I have quiet some work experience, but never one like this! She doesn't treat you as a volunteer, expects a lot! If you leave the place earlier or break something deposit will be taken. It seems like she always find something to take the deposit, even you don't break something The place is really remote and other place then showed on map.

about 2 months ago

Jiani replied

Hello Martine,

Thank you for your time writing the review.

Many people leave guanico because it is very remote place. There’s nothing and this is not for everyone.

I am sorry that you felt like “crazy behavior or yelling” from me. Please, mention that everyone sees things differently. I did give you lots of critics because bartending / hospitality job is a very demanding job. I have told you and others serveral time. I understand that this job is not for everyone. We do expect people work independently and more confident in their task. We had 3 others volunteers complaining about your working ethics and they decided not to work with you because they needed to do your job. There’s people were professionals in their hospitality field. Additionally, you have never socialized with others workers (Gi**, En** Ma** …) I tried to calm the situation and wanted to keep you in our team. That’s why I kept telling you the things over and over again in order to teach you so you can stay. As I told you that we kept you so long because we like your motivation. I, usually do not tolerate workers, if they didn’t understand their responsibilities after 2 weeks. In the end you stayed 3 months.

We have 6-8 volunteers from different countries and cultures. We aren’t able to satisfy every single one. Differently people also have different perception. I am sorry that you felt in a bad way how I criticize you.

We believe it’s normal to ask for a security deposit ($50) for every volunteer. Because in case they break things we have this covered. Before everyone start the job with us, they need to sign the agreement, which you did! Luckily we did ask a deposit from you, because I didn’t thing it’s fair when you broke our shower in your house, that you didn’t want to pay. I feel really sad that because of this we had an argument in your last 3 days.

You were in my house for 3 months and we got a long most of the time. We have shared many things together. You are an adult of 39 years (no judgment), we believe that you are a person who needs to be able to accept critics. Plus, to accept other people opinions and house rules.

PS: overall, I didn’t have a bad experience with you and you have a received a great review of me. If it’s so bad, you wouldn’t have stayed 3 months with us?

We wish you all the best

View all reviews

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by Jiani

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 20% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in 3 days
2 published videos
This host has 2 published videos showing a little bit about their place

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Choose your plan to travel with Worldpackers as many times as you like.

Complete your profile, watch the video lessons in the Academy, and earn certificates to stand out to hosts.

Apply to as many positions as you like, and get in contact with hosts.

If a host thinks you’re a good fit for their position, they’ll pre-approve you.

Get your documents and tickets ready for your volunteer trip.

Confirm your trip to enjoy all of the safety of Worldpackers.

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact on the world.

If anything doesn’t go as planned with a host, count on WP Insurance and our support team!

After volunteering, you and your host exchange reviews.

With positive reviews, you’ll stand out to hosts and get even more benefits.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works