we need a handy man, help with our farm and painting

4.0
24 reviews24

Host & Team

4.0

Hours & Tasks

3.5

Hostel

4.5

Learning & Fun

4.0

How this experience will transform you

5 Meeting international travelers

3 Meeting locals

2 Practicing English

2 Developing social awareness

2 Immersing in the local culture

1 Developing environmental awareness


Lithuania

5

Everybody’s very friendly over there, so you’ll definitely make new friends. Overall the work load wasn’t much, simple tasks easily done. We had plenty of time to enjoy the island. The food was nice . And the host is very welcoming and helpful !
Thank you Magdalena for everything ! 😊

about 2 months ago

Portugal

5

Corfu is a beautiful island, and Agios Gordios one of the most beautiful beaches there. Magda is a great person, helped me when I needed something about tour, information and everything more. I did canoeing, swimming, ride a bike, walk in the beaches, enjoying the sunsets, and all. Magda has another volunteer there, his name is Alysson. Alysson helped me a lot, everyday. She is a great person too. A special friend! I recommend! Thanks for everything and see you soon :)

4 months ago

Ireland

3

Social Media and Photography ended up in being personal work for Magdalena mainly gardening and sanding/painting. Although I was told before coming that Jobs would vary due to the current virus situation, considering the fact that there was already a permanent staff member doing photography and social media, I felt mislead. Jobs are randomly assigned daily. Hours are usually not assigned until either the night before or first thing in the morning. Asides from a few unwelcoming members of the maintenance staff, the workers here were quite nice. Contact for more as reviews have limits.

6 months ago


Magdalena replied

Dear Dylan,
It hurts me to read your review, we were unable to work for a long time due to the virus quarantine which started right after you arrived, i supported you and the other volunteers all this time with free sea view place and home cooked meals, lots of free time to enjoy the beach, relax and work on your online job you were doing as a web developer and some days you helped me with some painting and some gardening, due to the virus we could not be close and work on the website you originally came to help me with, i enjoyed my time in the garden with you and it hurts me that you left with out telling me how you felt.
Have safe travels and stay safe, i hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Brazil

1

If you are looking for a good experience in Greece, don’t go there!
The tasks asked in the app are not related to the real job. At first I thought that I was going to stay 2 months, no way. I stayed for 2 weeks, the host barely acknowledged my name. Lots of hard work, in bad weather, none of the activities promised in the app exists. The place is far away from any shops, the local shops were all closed due to the season. The only place we could go was the beach. I’m just grateful that I met amazing volunteers there, and that I was able to leave. If you have any farther question message me!

7 months ago


Magdalena replied

Dear Uliara,
I am glad you enjoyed the beach and the company of our other amazing volunteers here.
Uliara, When you applied to come and join us I explained to you that it was off season here at the time you wanted to come, the hostel and our activities activities and everything around was closed. i also informed you of all the different jobs we needed help with getting the place ready for the summer. Like painting, sweeping, etc.. You agreed and you were very happy to join us. while you were here you met Rob and you both started looking for a paying job. As soon as you both found a job you did a disappearing act together with out even informing me or even saying goodbye.
You seemed very happy in the mornings when we were all having breakfast together in my house, enjoying our conversations and daily meals with the other volunteers, laughing, having fun, discussing and sharing your travelling experiences with us, you seemed to enjoy my cooking, our life style and our company, and most of all our beach location.
I am happy to have met you, thank you for joining us and for your help. I am really sorry to read that your experience with us was not what you expected.
I would like to wish you all the best in your future travels and a to have a safe trip home.
Magdalena

United States

5

I had an amazing time here at the pink palace with Magda, her family and the other volunteer. Coming during the off-season was a great decision even though there weren't many people aroand it was amazing waking up every morning to the sound of the sea and going out to catch our own fish for dinner. Magda was so hospitable and kind to me I felt included as part of her family the day I met her. The food was amazing, the work was fulfilling and changed every day so I was never bored. Definitely a place to come back to and I highly recommend it especially during the off-season. Thank you Magda!

9 months ago

United States

1

It was the worst experience I've ever had. Message me for the details. Do not go here.

about 1 year ago

Brazil

5

I loved the experience. Such a nice place, for sure I would come back!

over 1 year ago


Magdalena replied

Dear Clara, we loved having you here, thank you for your help, friendship and assistance. We wish you safe travels and we hope to see you again soon in the near future

Spain

4

It was a wonderful experience! I really recommend it. The place is incredible and the staff is very friendly. Magda opened her home to me since my first day and my advice for new travellers is: if there's something that you don't like, you must speak with Magda, she is always trying to find the best solution for both of you. I hope you enjoy it as mucha as I did, I'm going to miss it so much. Thank you Magda for this opportunity! I hope I can come back one day!

over 1 year ago

Italy

5

Magdalena was just incredible, always helpful and doing her best to make us feel at home. As my first experience in Worldpackers I’m happy that I could have so many good moments there.

over 1 year ago

Spain

3

Our experience in Corfu has been good.
Magda was very good with us and we have taken great care of her. The food is great! She is a very good cook!

The tasks are hard but very entertaining. We left earlier than planned because our goal is to improve our English and the hostel was not open yet. The location and the views are ideal and now that the tourist season begins it must be a very attractive destination.
Any questions or questions do not hesitate to contact us, we hope you enjoy the adventure.

Greetings Magda! A very strong hug for your whole family!

over 1 year ago


Magdalena replied

my dear friends, i think of you often and i hope you will come back to see us sometime soon, have safe travels and thank you for being so wonderful and for your help.

Apply Now