Guest House Hovedgård, Denmark

16 reviews16

Help us in our old beautiful countryside B&B near Aarhus, Denmark

Practice English
11 travelers recommend this host to practice English
Connect with nature
9 travelers recommend this experience for reconnecting with nature
Save to Wishlist

What you offer


Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Help grow plants and cultivate gardens
Help clean the kitchen, bedrooms, bathrooms and common areas.
Help with changing the bed linens and general housekeeping.
Learn more

What you get


Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Bikes at your disposal
You can use our bikes any time you want.
Pick Up
We will pick you up when you arrive, and take you to our property.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more


Stay at least
30 days

The Experience

Our Bed & Breakfast is situated in an old deanery (approx. 160 years old) in a small village. I (Helene) am 61 years old, I live in an apartment at the B&B. My son (Daniel) & his wife (Melania) also live at the B&B in one of the apartments. International travelers, volunteers, digital nomads, etc. spending time at our B&B on a work and travel program will find a beautiful, peaceful, relaxing place to find yourself.

Learn more


  • Intermediate English or Fluent Danish
  • Between 18 and 31 years old
  • Only hosts solo volunteers (doesn’t accept couples or pairs)

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

16 Reviews


Host & Team


Hours & Tasks


Guest House


Learning & Fun


How this experience will transform you

  • 11 Practicing English
  • 9 Get in touch with nature
  • 8 Immersing in the local culture
  • 5 Meeting locals
  • 3 Developing environmental awareness
  • 3 Meeting international travelers



We had a very pleasant stay. Helene, Melania and Daniel were very kind to us and made our stay as good as possible. Moreover, the tasks to be done were really easy. I would of course repeat and recommend it to anyone but who wants to relax and enjoy themselves.

4 months ago



This is my first exchange on the Worldpackers platform and it was a good experience. Helene, Melania and Daniel are very kind and always hope that you are well. The work is as stipulated, respecting in turn the rest days. Although my English is not very good, they were very patient with me and we were able to communicate. Absolutely, I recommend this experience.

11 months ago



It was our first experience and we couldn't be happier and more grateful! It was a very nice month, everything was perfect. They are very friendly, it was easy to communicate, everything flowed very well. All agreements were respected and they were very respectful of our days off. We were lucky enough to try some Danish dishes and Daniel's fantastic pizzas!

12 months ago



Being at the B&B was wonderful. Helen, Daniel, and Mel are great human beings full of wisdom and are willing to pass it on. I was able to understand the Danish culture and way of seeing and accepting nature. The work is clear and completely manageable. The place is surrounded by nature. It is a magical place. The atmosphere in the house is very pleasant. There are rules as in anyone's house and they must be followed. It was a pleasure to have been able to share with them. I felt at home.

about 1 year ago



It was my first experience as a volunteer and I can only recommend! Helene and Mel are kind and sweet people. I don't have a very good level in English, especially to express myself, but they were always patient and kind to me. Work is exactly as described, no surprises. The place is so beautiful ! Just go there :)

about 1 year ago

View all reviews

About the host

Hosted by Helene

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 100% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in A few hours

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Choose your plan to travel with Worldpackers as many times as you like.

Complete your profile, watch the video lessons in the Academy, and earn certificates to stand out to hosts.

Apply to as many positions as you like, and get in contact with hosts.

If a host thinks you’re a good fit for their position, they’ll pre-approve you.

Get your documents and tickets ready for your volunteer trip.

Confirm your trip to enjoy all of the safety of Worldpackers.

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact on the world.

If anything doesn’t go as planned with a host, count on WP Insurance and our support team!

After volunteering, you and your host exchange reviews.

With positive reviews, you’ll stand out to hosts and get even more benefits.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works