Homestay Arbon, Switzerland

5.0
(17 reviews)17

Learn about swiss lifestyle near the beautiful lake konstanz

Top Host
This host receives lots of worldpackers and has a high average rating, being recognized by the community as a Top Host.
Higher chance of approval
This host has recently approved volunteers and is looking for more applications.
Connect with the locals
15 travelers recommend this host to have close contact with locals
Immerse yourself in the local culture
14 travelers recommend this host for those looking for a local cultural immersion
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

20h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Housekeeping
Help with changing the bed linens and general housekeeping.
Cooking
Choose the menu, pick ingredients and cook delicious dishes.
Teaching Languages
Teaching a language to the host, guests, or local communities.
Animal Care
Help look after and take care of animals.
Learn more

What you get

3

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Lunch
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
Dinner
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Basic Internet Access
Basic speed internet for you to work remotely
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Bikes at your disposal
You can use our bikes any time you want.
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
WP Safeguard
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

Availability

Apr
May
Jun
Jul
Aug
Sep
Stay at least
3 weeks
Stay up to
4 weeks

The Experience

Learn about the lifesyle of a couple in Switzerland. Explore the beautiful surrounding with the lake and the mountains. The daily tasks will mainly be household tasks like cooking, cleaning, tidying up, cat care, shopping, and ironing. If you have manual skills there are also some tasks to do together. we like to spend time together for conversation, especially in the evenings. During day time you will sometimes be alone.

Learn more

Requirements

  • Fluent English or Beginner German
  • Over 26 years old
  • Only hosts solo volunteers (doesn’t accept couples or partners)

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

Exclusive for members

Connect with those who will also be there

Become a Verified Member and exchange ideas before your trip with other worldpackers who will be volunteering in the same place as you.

Become a member

17 Reviews

5.0

Host & Team

5.0

Hours & Tasks

5.0

Homestay

5.0

Learning & Fun

5.0

How this experience will transform you

  • 15 Meeting locals
  • 14 Immersing in the local culture
  • 12 Get in touch with nature
  • 7 Practicing English
  • 6 Developing environmental awareness
  • 4 Developing social awareness

This host contributes to Sustainable Development Goals

  • 5 3. Good health and well-being
  • 4 12. Responsible consumption and production
  • 2 7. Affordable and clean energy

United States

5

Doris and Mario were fantastic hosts. This was my first Worldpackers experience and I'm so glad I applied here. The tasks can be completed in a few hours. Doris is an amazing cook and you will be introduced to many aspects of Swiss culture and food. I had plenty of free time and was able to take many day trips in Switzerland, as well as Austria and Germany. You can easily travel around using public transportation. Even in winter (Feb) I was able to hike on many mountain trails. Their home is a welcoming and cozy place that allowed me to truly enjoy my stay near Lake Constance.

about 2 months ago

Australia

5

I Couldn't have had a better first volunteer work experience than at the home! Mario and Doris are so respectul, generous and welcoming people. The tasks are very easy and the place is very cozzy , you can feel a warm family enviroment. I had a lot of time for travelling around , the town is beautiful and very relaxing place to walk. I really enjoyed my time here and for sure I want to come back one day! Thank you so much Mario and Doris for a lovely experience!

3 months ago

United States

5

It was my 2nd time visting these hosts and it was like meeting old friends. (Look at my prior reveiw) Doris & Mario are great people and generous hosts. I trully enjoyed our time together and helping preparing for the Christmas celebration. I got used to the choirs the 1st time around (mainly household and cooking), so they were like a second nature to me. Doris & Mario are really appreciative when you help them and show initiative. They are great in advising you what to do around the town or Switzeland. This is great opportunity for an independent person, who loves nature and cultures.

4 months ago

Mexico

5

Doris and Mario were great hostess. they made me feel like home since the first day I arrived. I really enjoyed my stay at their house. Doris is a great cook and learned a lot from her. I enjoyed teaching her some mexican food as well which I think they liked. They both treat you with respect and are always there for any question. I had the chance to see some of the city and St Gallen as well which are beautiful. thank you Mario and Doris for a pleasant time!

5 months ago

United States

5

My experience at the home was one of the best volunteering opportunities I've ever had the pleasure of working at. Doris and Mario are a very the home couple and make you feel a part of their family. They make sure you settle in well, have lots of free time to do activities, and give you great food. I am very happy I got the chance to participate in this opportunity and will hope to do it again some day. I got to experience true Swiss life at this volunteer role and will remember it forever. Thank you to the best hosts!!!

6 months ago

View all

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by Doris

Top Host
This host receives a lot of worldpackers and has a high average rating.
Response Rate
This host usually answers to 100% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in Less than a day
2 published videos
This host has 2 published videos showing a little bit about their place

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Choose your plan to travel with Worldpackers as many times as you like.

Complete your profile, watch the video lessons in the Academy, and earn certificates to stand out to hosts.

Apply to as many positions as you like, and get in contact with our verified hosts.

If a host thinks you’re a good fit for their position, they’ll pre-approve you.

Get your documents and tickets ready for your volunteer trip.

Confirm your trip to enjoy all of the safety of Worldpackers.

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact on the world.

If anything doesn’t go as planned with a host, count on the WP Safeguard and our highly responsive support team!

After volunteering, you and your host exchange reviews.

With positive reviews, you’ll stand out to hosts and get even more benefits.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works