Homestay Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom

5.0
(10 reviews)10

Planting/Harvesting by the sea

Top Host
This host receives lots of worldpackers and has a high average rating, being recognized by the community as a Top Host.
Practice English
10 travelers recommend this host to practice English
Connect with nature
8 travelers recommend this experience for reconnecting with nature
Accepts couples and pairs of volunteers
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

25h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Farming
Plant crops, sow seeds and help in outside tasks.
Gardening
Help grow plants and cultivate gardens
Learn more

What you get

2

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Lunch
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
Dinner
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Free Tours
We’ll take you on tours and rides around town. For free!
Free Hiking Tours
We’ll take you on excursions and hikes around town. For free!
Get free drinks or beverages.
Drink up! Get free and tasty drinks for yourself.
Bikes at your disposal
You can use our bikes any time you want.
Pick Up
We will pick you up when you arrive, and take you to our property.
Surfboards
You can use our surfboards as much as you want.
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
WP Safeguard
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

Availability

Jun
Jul
Aug
Sep
Oct
Nov
Stay at least
4 weeks

The Experience

General gardening on our nearby 9 acre field by the sea.

Learn more

Requirements

  • Welcomes solo volunteers, couples, and partners of volunteers

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

10 Reviews

5.0

Host & Team

5.0

Hours & Tasks

5.0

Homestay

5.0

Learning & Fun

5.0

How this experience will transform you

  • 10 Practicing English
  • 8 Get in touch with nature
  • 6 Meeting international travelers
  • 6 Immersing in the local culture
  • 5 Meeting locals
  • 4 Learning about sustainability

This host contributes to Sustainable Development Goals

  • 7 3. Good health and well-being
  • 7 12. Responsible consumption and production
  • 4 4. Quality education

Spain

5

The family is so friendly, I felt very well received, as I were another member of the family. The kids are a charm, and I am going to miss playing cards, listening to the piano, painting with watercolors, making jewelry and the film nights. I have memories that I keep fondly Also, I had a lot of free time that I spent visit the surroundings( ridind the bike). It was my first volunteering, all my experience was an adventure outside of my comfort zone , and my expectations we're over met.

about 1 month ago

Brazil

5

The family is very welcoming, they included us in everything, we really felt like part of the family. We always had all meals together, Maria always cooked, and Antony makes a very good bread! The kids are adorable, I really have a lot of affection for everyone and I will never forget you all! We were supposed to stay from March to early May and we decided to extend for one more month because the family is wonderful and I improved my English a lot! Thank you for everything ❤️

about 2 months ago

Switzerland

5

Wow. This month long experience has been so incredibly fun, beautiful, peaceful, full of love and overall pretty life changing. Maria and Anthony are absolutely amazing hosts who will respect your hours, free time and space (you get a hut all to yourself!!) while also making you feel like you are part of family and including you in everything they do if that's what you want! The kids are also absolute gems!! This is a great place if you like walking, swimming and birdwatching! The Parfitts live a very sustainable, healthy , simple lifestyle that was perfect for me❤️

4 months ago


Maria replied

Emélie stayed with us in the month of February with the brief of teaching our children French and helping out with general household chores. However, this mature 19 year old brought much more to the family with her gentleness, warm, intelligence and sense of humour.
Firstly, she has an eclectic taste in music that supersedes many of the young people we have come across and we relished listening to it; especially while cooking in the kitchen with our 14 year old son.
Apart from teaching French to the children, she taught some songs on the guitar to our eleven year old daughter (in French) and a wonderful piece from the film Amélie on the piano to our son and daughter. She taught them to sketch in pencil and paint in watercolours of seascapes and flowers. Emélie was also a natural in encouraging our daughter with Downs Syndrome to draw “faces” and built a very special relationship with her.
Indeed, Emélie is a catalyst for creating things to the point that, from her inception, we made a music video together called “Pembrokeshire Skies”.
In addition, she is willing and hardworking and always available to help where needed. Often – “Could you scrub some potatoes?” would translate into a delicious meal be cungered up with laughter and singing to be heard along the way.

Colombia

5

It was a great experience, for nature lovers the place and its surroundings are beautiful, there are instruments and Maria and Anthony have everything they can to make you feel at home.

4 months ago

Brazil

5

The thing is: what a concept this experience was! I stayed at the cutest private hut for three months while teaching Portuguese and Pilates to the kids and learning lots of English spelling and French speaking. Besides getting organic healthy meals everyday, I also enjoyed the beach and beautiful views of the coast path. Even on grey rainy days staying over with the family just colouring in, making jewelry and solving riddles was so heart warming! I've got a warm and helpful welcome since day one and I'll miss all the concepts we've created together 🥲

6 months ago


Maria replied

Gabriela stayed with us from the month of October 2023 for three months with the brief of teaching our children French and Portuguese and Pilates to our daughter with Downs Syndrome; all of which she excelled in with incredible patience and perserverance.
She also built positive relationships with the other volunteers from France and California and had a gift for team games and riddles – many of which we still play today and are passing on to others. Much of ‘Gabriela’ is travelling around the world and in the local schools here!
This lovely young woman is not shy of “deep cleaning” so if you need anything like that done – she sees it more of a joy than a chore.

View all

About the host

Hosted by Maria

Top Host
This host receives a lot of worldpackers and has a high average rating.
Response Rate
This host usually answers to 100% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in A few hours
1 published videos
This host has 1 published videos showing a little bit about their place

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Choose your plan to travel with Worldpackers as many times as you like.

Complete your profile, watch the video lessons in the Academy, and earn certificates to stand out to hosts.

Apply to as many positions as you like, and get in contact with our verified hosts.

If a host thinks you’re a good fit for their position, they’ll pre-approve you.

Get your documents and tickets ready for your volunteer trip.

Confirm your trip to enjoy all of the safety of Worldpackers.

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact on the world.

If anything doesn’t go as planned with a host, count on the WP Safeguard and our highly responsive support team!

After volunteering, you and your host exchange reviews.

With positive reviews, you’ll stand out to hosts and get even more benefits.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works