About COVID-19
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we recommend you to stay informed about WHO's and local authorities' recommendations.

Farm Portaferry, United Kingdom

5.0
11 reviews11

Get immersed in nature in Northern Ireland! :)


Top Host
This host receives lots of worldpackers and has a high average rating, being recognized by the community as a Top Host.
Connect with nature
3 travelers recommend this experience for reconnecting with nature
Connect with the locals
3 travelers recommend this host to have close contact with locals
Accepts couples and pairs of volunteers
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

25h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Animal Care
Help look after and take care of animals.
Handyman
Help with a wide range of repairs or building.
Farming
Plant crops, sow seeds and help in outside tasks.
Gardening
Help grow plants and cultivate gardens
Learn more

What you get

2

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
Tent
You will sleep in a tent at a camping site.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Lunch
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
Dinner
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Bikes at your disposal
You can use our bikes any time you want.
Pick Up
We will pick you up when you arrive, and take you to our property.
Permaculture Course
Take part in our Permaculture course for free.
Support
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified hosts
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Insurance
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

Learn how to run a permaculture / natural farm, chopping down the jungle now and then, gathering and processing food, looking after the chickens, ducks, dog and cat, odd repair and natural building projects around the house, yurt and shed, making seed balls and any other projects you might come up with! We would be glad to have your help :)

Learn more

Requirements

  • Intermediate English
  • Over 19 years old
  • Accepts solo applications and also couples and pairs

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Availability

Jun
Jul
Aug
Sep
Oct
Nov
Stay at least
1 week
Stay up to
4 weeks

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

11 Reviews

5.0

Host & Team

5.0

Hours & Tasks

4.5

Farm

4.5

Learning & Fun

4.5

How this experience will transform you

3 Get in touch with nature

3 Meeting locals

3 Learning about sustainability

3 Developing environmental awareness

2 Immersing in the local culture

2 Developing social awareness

United Kingdom

5

Heiko and Susan are great people and they made me very welcome in their home. The first night we played guitars. Heiko's songs are amusing and performed with irresistible enthusiasm. They both have a great sense of humour.
My job was to house sit and look after their beagle, 'eddie', and geese and ducks. Heiko is very knowledgeable on foraging and has written a book on the subject. Heiko and Susan are very interesting people and great fun. The plot is beautifully private and peaceful, especially at night. Eddie the dog is adorable and I really bonded with him.

9 months ago

Slovakia

5

I will never forget about my experience at Permaferry, it was absolutely great! Susan and Heiko are very welcoming and such a nice people. Heiko is a perfect cook, even for a picky eater :D I learned a lot about the surrounding nature, and Heiko taught me several new tasks around the garden. For the future people coming, I would recommend bringing warm clothes, as it could be quite chilly even during the summer.

10 months ago

Ireland

5

I stayed with Heiko & Susan for around 3 weeks, they're lovely folk and I felt right at home there. They have lots of experience hosting people from all over the world!
Learned quite a bit about permaculture and foraging, Heiko is very knowledgeable and has some great books on his shelves.
The work was very relaxed at my own pace. Redid the floor and walls in their bathroom amongst other little jobs around the house and garden.
When he had to be away for a week to help someone move, I looked after the place and kept Susan company.
Would love to visit that part of Co.Down again sometime!

11 months ago

Paraguay

5

Wonderful and unforgettable experience! Heiko and Susan are an amazing couple. They taught me so much about Permaculture, foraging, cultural things, wine knowledge, how to use some tools and techniques. They provided me an awesome and cozy bedroom just for myself. Food was always in abundance. Heiko has a fantastic knowledge of music and he loves playing the guitar and sing which made everyday so much fun.
Thank you so much Heiko and Susan for everything! I will never forget you guys and our time together at your place! And thank you for saving my life during Covid19 times! 😆

about 1 year ago

Brazil

5

Heiko and Susan are very nice
Our experience at their home was extremely fruitful
Heiko every morning made a healthy natural juice and we were going to walk with the dog Eddie
Our job was to clean the garden, something that we were able to accomplish without any problems
The dinners were on behalf of the host, and each day was a surprise. Natural and healthy food
After dinner, we would talk, watch something, listen to music, even Heiko even played songs of his own
We finally got to know a lot of cool places that are nearby, including the bikes that were made available by the hosts

about 2 years ago

View all reviews

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by Heiko

Host%402x Top Host
This host receives a lot of worldpackers and has a high average rating.
Response Rate
This host usually answers to 100% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in 2 days
2 published videos
This host has 2 published videos showing a little bit about their place

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Step 1

Become a member of our community to get access to all of its benefits.

Step 2

Apply to as many positions as you want, and chat with any host.

Step 3

If a host thinks you’re a good fit, you’ll be pre-approved.

Step 4

Check for required documents, tickets, and local health recommendations.

Step 5

Confirme sua viagem para ter toda a segurança da Worldpackers.

Step 6

Viva sua experiência transformadora e impacte positivamente o mundo.

Step 7

Depois da experiência juntos, você e o anfitrião deixam avaliações.

Step 8

Inscreva-se nos WP Programs e ganhe uma graninha enquanto viaja.

Check out all our plans Saiba mais sobre como funciona