T.House Farm

Aloha! Thank you for considering our Farm for your work-traveling experience!

The farm is located in Puna on an Island of Hawai’i, otherwise known as Big Island, on the south east side. We are 3.5 miles (5.6 km) away from a small, quirky & very hippyish town of Pahoa and about 30 min drive away from a beautiful black sand beach & about 45 min drive to salt-water hot ponds. (We are about an hour drive from Hilo and 2.5 hours drive from Kona.) Pahoa has a community center with free pool, shops, restaurants, bus stops etc. Walking or hitchhiking is the primary mode of transportation around here. However, we do have some bicycles you can borrow. 🚲

Our farmland used to be an orchard and sugar cane plantation earlier in the day but had been sitting neglected and overgrown for a while before we got it. Right now we are on the journey of bringing it back and building an off-grid, eco-friendly homesteading paradise, filled with gardens, orchards, beautiful relaxing spaces and with a good assortment of farm animals and pets roaming around❣️🤩 However, we are just starting and don’t have much of our own produce yet, but slowly and surely we are starting to pick the fruits of our labor and harvest small amounts of the food we produce. We hope you will help us to get our food production figured faster! 🥳 We have bunch of chickens and a little bit of ducks. We have 11 cats and 2 dogs. …and we do hope you don’t have allergies! 😬

Majority of the work at our place involves battling the jungle from taking over: mowing & maintaining the cleared area and clearing the new spaces, gardening, helping around the house, and helping with our animals, also brewing, jamming & making herbal teas and hot sauces. We also have construction projects small & large: raised beds, trellises, chicken coops & facilities, farm structures, etc. that we could use some help with, provided there are skills and the desire to do and learn.

There is also no Internet on the farm, so you will have to rely on your cell signal which depending on your carrier may not be great. Cell towers are in town, so the reception is great there and there is a free WiFi in the town mall.

We are looking for mature, hard-working, independent individuals with a solid work ethic to come and help us to make the paradise a reality! 😁

We are Will and Lana, homesteaders and the stewards of the land. A little bit about us: Will is from Asia & Lana from Europe. We are liberal, open, progressive, environmentally conscious, and care about many social issues. Living self-sustainably off-grid is our dream and it’s …coming, coming coming… true! 😆 We don’t like to sit still! We enjoy the trips to the beach & hot ponds, camping & hiking, horseback riding, biking and other activities. At home we love to veg out, listen to music, play games, watch movies, go for walks and do other fun and relaxing things. We enjoy good conversations and debates and love to listen and to be exposed to many unique positions and perspectives that differ from ours. We go an extra mile trying when it comes to the food quality and sustainability, not only choosing local & organic as much as possible but also using non-toxic, biodegradable products around the house and the farm. We like to cook and share meals together. We love trying & learning new things, so don’t be shy to share your favorite dishes with us! 😉 The human connection is important to us, and we doing this not only to get help, but also to make friends, connections and learn from each other. We treat our volunteers as family and it is very important to us that everyone has a great experience. We try to take our work-traders on trips to see the island as a ‘Thank you!’ for the excellent work. 😉

Top Host
This host receives a lot of worldpackers and has a high average rating.

Reviews

4.5
(37 reviews)37

Staff & Host

4.5

Hours & Tasks

4.5

Hostel

4.5

Learning & Fun

4.5

United States

5

I've spent a long time thinking about what to write for this review, as finding the words has been challenging and I run out of room! Will and Lana are some of the most interesting, kind, patient people I have ever met. I spent two months staying with them and they were just phenomenal. They invited us to be included in their lives and we loved it. In terms of work, Will explains perfectly how to do everything and is a great teacher, I've especially learnt so much from him. If you ever get the chance to meet Will you would understand that he is just one of those very rare people. Thank you.

6 days ago


William replied

Grace, truly appreciate your kind words! Thank you for touching our lives. You are welcome back anytime 🙏

United States

5

Will and Lana provided the best experience I could’ve asked for my first work trade! Although I was only there for two months, I have never felt more comfortable and safe with “strangers”, and I feel like they have made such a large impact on my life. Leaving t. House farm, I gained a lot of self direction, and learned more about who I and what I want, thank to will and Lana’s advice. I’m also grateful for the trust and patience they showed in teaching me new skills in areas I have very little experience in, and I know feel more confident in skills I’ve gained and in the ones I develop!

12 days ago

Germany

4

It was really nice there. Wil and Lana are both great. They are kind and very respectful and they do the best to make you a good time. You should be sure that you’re in the middle of nowhere and that you have to walk 2hours to the next bus station or shopping center. And if you like to be surrounded by people you have to be sure there are other volunteers the time you are there. I was alone there and they took me everywhere they went so it’s okay. Just too isolated for me. And the house was not as clean as I expected. They have many cats and dogs that live in the house too. But it’s okay

about 2 months ago

United States

5

This was my first WP experience! It was absolutely magical. I am so grateful to Wil and Lana for immediately making me and everyone on the farm feel like a part of the family. I loved the work and felt fulfilled. If you’re working outside and being with nature, this is PERFECT. I loved everyone I met and all of the beautiful experiences this island had to offer. I would love to come back and visit. Pahoa will always have a very special place in my heart. Everyone is so accepting and full of love. Thank you to Wil and Lana for such an incredible experience!

3 months ago

United States

2

As much as i’d like to say that i loved it, I honestly wouldn’t recommend. Lana was super nice but Wil had his own issues. He would get super upset over such little things. (like we threw away a tin can while cleaning)
I thought that we were being dramatic because all of the reviews were good but every volunteer felt the same way. There was no communication which was odd cause when i first got there, one of the other volunteers told me that Wil was so big on communication. I’m hoping that they can work on there communication and Wil can work on his issues cause this would be a great project!

3 months ago


William replied

I’m sorry that Rali had her experience. We have weekly meetings and there were ample of other opportunities to bring this up to either of our attention. We really wished that they would have communicated to us about it and not let it fest.
We are not sure what incident Rali was referring to. Wil walked through everyone about different recycling bins the first month Rali was here but didn’t at the beginning of the 2nd month.
If there were questions as to what goes to which bin, no one, except Anthony, asked for clarification and made their own assumptions.
We really wish them well and thankful for their time and contributions to the land!


Perfect for you if you're looking for

Contact with nature

Rural

Contact with animals

Spiritual

Yoga / Meditation

Wilderness